Have you recently been charged with a crime in the San Diego area? Dealing with a criminal charge is a very serious matter that can take over your life. Hiring a relentless and experienced criminal defense attorney as early as possible is very important.
Getting arrested is no laughing matter. As a skilled criminal defense attorney, I have been handling arduous cases since 1989. I tell my clients what they need to know when in the midst of a criminal investigation and prosecution. While hiring a public defender might seem like the more enticing decision to make, I would strongly advise against it. Public defenders are often knee-deep in cases and will not give you the attention that you deserve. I handle every case with the utmost seriousness and attentiveness that it requires.
When handling a criminal charge, it is imperative that you don’t:
- Talk to the police/prosecutor
- Tell confidential information to family and peers
- Talk to the press
- Contact the accuser
No matter the criminal charge, you will want someone to guide you during this legal battle. I have been proudly serving the cities of San Diego, Chula Vista, El Cajon, and Vista for over three decades.
Disputing Invalid Domestic Violence Charges
Domestic violence is often defined as, “abuse committed against an adult or a minor who is a spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or person with whom the suspect has had a child or is having or has had a dating or engagement relationship.”
Domestic violence charges are often referred to as a “wobbler” crime. This means, depending on the circumstances of the incident, relationship, age, and severity of injuries, a person can be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony. Prosecutors often aim for the accused to be sentenced with either jail time or assigned hefty court fines. Along with jail time and a fine, there are many other consequences that a person may face if convicted of domestic violence, including:
- Participation in California Batterers’ Intervention Program
- Medical payment and/or victim restitution
- Restraining order
- Loss of custody
- Loss of California gun ownership rights
Accusations of Weapons Handling & Gang Relation
Handling Weapon Charges
California does not shy away from prosecuting weapon violations. While a weapons charge is not limited to firearms, California state law has strict consequences for those who are convicted of firearms charges. There are various crimes that a person can be charged with. If a gun is in someone’s possession during the time of another violent crime like burglary, assault, or domestic violence, it can add anywhere from 10-25 years to the already proposed sentence.
If convicted of a misdemeanor, a person can face up to 12 months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. If convicted of a felony, a person can face anywhere from one year to 20 years in state prison and, in some cases, fines up to $10,000.
If you have been arrested for one or more of the following crimes, contact me today:
- Possessing a firearm without a conceal and carry permit
- Brandishing a firearm
- Possessing assault weapons or other illegal firearms
- Unlawful sale of firearms
False Allegations of Gang Relation
Gang affiliation is an enhancement that prosecutors can add to an underlying criminal charge. California prosecutors will use the possibility of gang involvement to make a prison sentence more severe. Crimes that are often charged with the enhancement of gang involvement are:
If you have been arrested for a crime and are suspected of gang involvement, I will conduct my own investigation that involves speaking with your family and peers to get a better understanding of your background to better defend your case